Connect with us

Euro 2020: Groups


Euro 2020: Groups

UEFA Euro 2020 famously known as Euro2020 is the 16th UEFA (Union of European Football Associations) football championship for international men’s championship which is structured and organized by UEFA. Union of European Football Associations is counted as one of the most prestigious and gigantic competitions for international football. Tournament held in 12 UEFA countries namely Azerbaijan, Denmark, Netherlands, England, Republic of Ireland, Germany, Italy, Russia, Romania, Scotland, Spain, Hungary. All these matches are going to held at 12 different stadia at the 12 different cities of these hosting countries of the continent.

In Rome, at the Stadio Olimpico, the opening game ceremony will be hosted Italy with Turkey. It is scheduled for 12th June 2020 to 12th July 2020. Every year bid is done to select the host country but in 2012 the UEFA president gave an idea of joint hosting by multiple countries at multiple cities in order to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the tournament.

They divided the hosting counting into the 6 groups and the group is divided by the UEFA by considering the requirement and their

  • Group A: Baku and Rome

  • Group B: Copenhagen and St. Petersburg

  • Group C: Bucharest and Amsterdam 

  • Group D: Glasgow and London

  • Group E: Dublin and Bilbao 

  • Group F: Budapest and Munich 

This year there are 20 qualified teams All these countries are divided in groups as below:

  • Group A: Turkey, Wales, Switzerland, Italy

  • Group B: Denmark, Belgium, Finland, Russia

  • Group C: Holland, Austria, Ukraine, Winner of the Playoff D

  • Group D: England, Czech Republic, Croatia, Winner of the Playoff C

  • Group E: Spain, Poland, Sweden, Winner of the Playoff B

  • Group F: Portugal, France, Germany, playoff winner A

Euro 2020 played in different groups where playoffs are scheduled. There is the perfect format for these playoffs with a time-based schedule. To create the confusion in the matter, 16 teams are still struggling to secure their place in the tournament and a separate schedule is defined for their playoffs paths. After March 31st we will receive a confirmed and a concrete list of the groups. The final 4 teams will be played between semi-finals and final. The final will be held at Wembley stadium in London on 12th July.

The most interesting part of any tournament is the group of deaths. The top nation of Europe will reveal their luck on Saturday at Bucharest. The eyes of the fans will be stick on the group f. Like Portugal, the reigning champion is going to play against France who is the world cup winner and three times winner the European champion Germany.

Hence it means we are going to see Portugal caption and lifeline of Portugal’s football Cristiano Ronaldo facing the French football star Kylian Mbappe. Hence, we will be able to see a lot of other such players face off in the entire tournament. Not only the European but all the football fans are eagerly waiting for the final which is going to held on 12th July at London in Wembley stadium.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top